h1

My Amazon Haul

August 4, 2023

As I mentioned in my previous post, I have spent way too much money on Amazon this summer. In my defense, I found some good stuff, so I thought I’d list some of it and how I plan to use it. I’m including links just in case anyone’s interested, but I’m not any sort of Amazon affiliate.

This phone holder was probably responsible for starting my Amazon spree. It has space for 36 phones (I only need 32), and I’m going to use these cards as placeholders (I also used my label maker to label 1-10 on the left side and 21-32 on the right side). I found this power strip with 22 outlets and 6 USB charging ports, which will be cool as long as I can manage the cables. I haven’t always taken up phones, but I think our new principal is going to be much stricter about phone usage.
This is a total shot in the dark, but I found these after watching one of Mrs. Arensberg’s videos (which I can’t find now) of her 4th grade class taking a break by going outside and blowing bubbles. The image of my high school kids doing this just tickled me, and since I’ve been trying to find some class incentives that don’t involve food, I thought I’d give these a try. My only concern is that we’re going to have to wait until it’s below 100 degrees outside!
One of our teachers has something like this dispenser, and when I also found 150 pre-sharpened pencils, that seemed like a good deal.
This item will probably need a post by itself, but the short version is that I have an activity for my Astronomy students in which they do a mock mission of controlling a Mars rover. I used a GoPro to approximate a satellite view of the Mars surface, but unfortunately, someone stole the GoPro, so I’m hoping this dash cam will work as a replacement.
I can’t tell you how many times I’ve needed one of these, but I would always forget to order one.
I hope my high school kids don’t find this insulting, but I’m so tired of students’ not being able to tell time from an analog clock. The clock in my new room is pretty tired looking, and at least this clock is colorful.
These circles are probably the reason I wrote this post. They are 11 inches in diameter and dry-erase, but how I plan to use them is to help kids rearrange desks in my room. My usual room arrangement is 8 groups of 4 desks. Whenever a class has a test, however, I go back to the traditional rows. After the test, students often want to help putting the desks back into groups, but I have to tell them that I have a system of what desk goes where.

My plan is to put a quarter circle on each corner of the desk in a group so that the four desks form a circle — this should be a pretty good visual clue of what desks go back together. Since they are also dry-erase, I can use them to number the desks for state testing, etc. I am very excited to get these cut and put on the desks.
I just bought this set of washi tape yesterday. My plan is to color-coordinate my laptops with their power cords.