h1

Still Head Over Heels (Part 1)

May 2, 2017

I’m approaching the end of my third year of doing a flipped classroom in Geometry, and I’m still in love with the format. I was reading a post the other day (I’ve been trying to catch up on my Reader feed, so I can’t remember who said it) that was concerned that students’ watching 10-minute videos wouldn’t get the same teaching as a regular lecture or other type of in-class teaching. In a lot of ways, I would definitely agree with that, because I tell my students I don’t expect them to learn everything about a particular topic just from taking notes. I spend about 5-10 minutes at the beginning of class going over more examples before I turn them loose on their classwork for that topic.

For me, the flipped classroom model allows me to eliminate the most tedious part of teaching: taking notes. For example, below is a fairly typical PowerPoint that I would give over angle relationships in a circle:

Instead of my standing at the front of the class going through this PowerPoint while some students make very quick notes and others make meticulous drawings and copy everything exactly, I assign them the task of paging through this slideshow and taking as much (or as little) time as they need. Some students will “get” this topic just from the notes, because it’s fairly straightforward; others will need some more explanation in class, and that’s okay.

The students would then work on something like a Kuta worksheet (I got tired of waiting for my school to buy it, so I bought a single-user license myself). When they were ready, they would take a quiz over the topic on Canvas, our district’s LMS (learning management system). The only deviations I make from this routine are when I want the whole class to work on something such as a stations activity, a Geogebra exploration, or a Desmos activity (for example, we did a Polygraph: Polygons that went really well).

My Pre-AP kids generally like this format. Their parents also like that they don’t have to worry about trying to help their kids with their homework, because the homework consists of taking notes over a slideshow.

I ran into a student who was in my first year of flipped classes recently, and he told me that it was the best approach to a math class that he’d ever had, and he didn’t know why all of his teachers didn’t adopt the same format.

One comment

  1. […] A Math Teacher's Journal « Still Head Over Heels (Part 1) […]



Comments are closed.

