h1

Algebra 3 Standards

July 14, 2014

StephReilly (@reilly1041) asked if I could post some of my material from Algebra 3, which gives me something to write about–yay!

a3bookBackground: When Texas went to requiring four years of math, my district decided to add an “Algebra 3” course. My instructions were to create a class that was beyond Algebra 2 and that could prepare students for college algebra. We picked a great textbook, which I generally followed.

Problem Solving StrategiesI also wanted to have my students practice problem solving, so about twice per six weeks, they had a problem set assigned. These were problems I (mostly) found from Problem Solving Strategies, which is a really great book. I liked these problems, because the math is fairly simple, but the thinking is not. I would give them one class day to work on the problems, and one week to get them finished and turned in.

Here’s what I ended up with for my standards (objectives):

Unit 1 – Functions and Relations
Obj. 1: Number Theory
Obj. 2: Linear Functions
Obj. 3: Quadratic Equations
Obj. 4: Rational and Radical Equations

Unit 2 – Quadratic and Polynomial Functions
Obj. 5: Completing the Square and Vertex Form
Obj. 6: Synthetic Division
Obj. 7: Zeros of Polynomial Functions
Obj. 8: Polynomial Functions and Their Graphs

Unit 3 – Rational Functions
Obj. 9: Graphing Rational Functions
Obj. 10: Variation
Obj. 11: Inverse Functions

Unit 4 – Exponential and Logarithmic Functions
Obj. 12: Exponential Functions
Obj. 13: Logarithmic Functions
Obj. 14: Exponential and Logarithmic Equations
Obj. 15: Exponential Growth and Decay

Unit 5 – Trigonometric and Circular Functions
Obj. 16: Trigonometric Functions
Obj. 17: Angle Measures in Degrees and Radians
Obj. 18: Unit Circle and Circular Functions
Obj. 19: Graphs of Sine and Cosine
Obj. 20: Translations of Sine and Cosine Graphs
Obj. 21: Law of Sines
Obj. 22: Law of Cosines
Obj. 23: Vectors

Unit 6 – Systems and Matrices
Obj. 24: Systems of Linear Equations
Obj. 25: Nonlinear Systems of Equations
Obj. 26: Systems of Inequalities

Unit 7 – Conics
Obj. 27: Circles
Obj. 28: Parabolas
Obj. 29: Ellipses
Obj. 30: Hyperbolas

Steph, I hope this helps. Let me know if you have any questions, or if you need anything else.

