h1

Proportional Relationship Project

July 4, 2014

As I said in a previous post, I decided to take the meaning of “geometry” (measuring the earth) to heart by having several projects where we left the classroom and measured stuff. The first one I did was at the beginning of February where we used mirrors and meter/yard sticks.
20140204_121429

Michael’s has some pretty good square mirrors that I was able to pick up pretty cheaply. I also put a reinforcement on each mirror to give them a point to measure from/to.

Generally, this was a very successful project. I started everyone off at the same place, which was just outside my room. As groups finished this, I could send them along to the next station, which was just down the hall. As far as I know (**g**), I didn’t have any students go AWOL on me. When I do this again, I think I’m going to have to bite the bullet and just measure in centimeters. As much as I want them to get the practice of measuring in inches and feet and using fractions, it’s not worth the hassle for what I’m trying to achieve. I may also add a direct measurement of the first station, so they can check their work.

Obj. 37 Proportional Relationships Project

