h1

Next Year

June 19, 2012

Ideas to be added as they come to me (complete with bulleted lists!):

  • Use my BriteLink for warm-ups.
    • This last year was the first year I did not regularly do warm-ups, and I think it went poorly. I really need to get the kids working on something right at the beginning of class. The problems I had with warm-ups were that (a) I was giving quizzes about every other day, and I wanted to use the warm-up time as the quiz time, and (b) it always seemed to take more time than I wanted to spend. To make warm-ups work, it has to be regular — if the students don’t know they’re supposed to be working on something every day, they will drift off.
    • Do I want to do warm-ups with my seniors?
    • How about putting a joke or a Lolz next to it?
    • After reading how Infinite Sum arranges his room, I think I want to adapt his idea of having different groups doing different warm-up problems and then sharing them with the class. I could have each table do a different problem and then maybe have them work them on the board? Neat idea, though.
  • Exit slips **sigh**
    • I kind of like the notion (building from misscalcul8’s idea post) of having the exit slip be the next class warm-up. Hmmm.
  • More “process” problems — give them the answers and have them tell me how to get it.
  • Have students create examples
  • Ask my seniors what their future career plans are and if they know what level or kind of math is involved
  • Show video from a cricket match to illustrate the idea that one of the reasons they might think math is boring is because they don’t know the rules of the game.
  • Since I’m planning on giving my Algebra 3 students more problems for homework, I think I will print up the solutions for them to check their work. In order to ensure that I get my solutions back, I think I will make 2 copies per table onto Astrobright paper and number each page (1A, 1B, 2A, etc.). I will then answer a limited number of questions. At the beginning of last year, I was really disciplined about keeping the question time short so that we could still do an “extension activity” after the quiz. I’d like to get back to that.
4 comments

  1. Hi!
    What, ideally, do you hope to achieve with warm-ups in your classes?
    Probably at least a part of it is to make sure that beginning-of-class time is productive time.
    A stray thought that comes to mind (and I say it as much for myself as for you): what if, at least on some days, there were a couple of things students could choose to do right at the start of class, and they’d pick the one they think would be most useful for them. Some intrinsic motivation for getting going. Three options that come to mind are doing a couple of posted review problems (classic warm-up), doing a short reflection-response journal entry, and discussing the homework with a neighbor.
    I think I’m attracted to this idea because sometimes when I give warm-ups, I feel like it’s a power move on my part to grab control right off the bat. And ultimately, my classroom shouldn’t be about control; it should be about kids learning.
    Thanks for getting me thinking on this!


    • Thanks for asking a great question!

      My main purpose, is as you said, to start them doing something while I’m trying to take care of “housekeeping” (checking roll, checking homework, listening to announcements, etc.). I like the idea of giving them choices and trying to inculcate intrinsic motivation. I’ll definitely think about that as well.


  2. I have a comment on your EOY reflection . On your quizzes, when you have the first one count, if a student shows they have it, what do they do on the subsequent quizzes? Do they still have to do the problem(s) on that concept?

    Thanks – Lisa


    • The subsequent quizzes over an objective are optional (unless they missed it the first time) — they only do them if they want to try to improve their grades (and it can only improve their grade; I ignore grades that are the same or lower). Part of me wants to go with Cornally’s method of a continual assessment: show me that you still know the material; but I like the safety net aspect of my arrangement.



Comments are closed.

