h1

SBG Year One

June 8, 2011

After thinking about my first year of my interpretation of Standards-Based Assessment, I am on the whole very happy with how it worked out, although I have some definite changes I want to make for next year.

In no particular order, here are my reflections on SBG:

  • Since I have so many SPED kids, SBG made doing strengths and weaknesses a breeze.
  • Breaking down the chapters by topic almost correlated exactly to by section. My biggest quibble is that if a student came in wanting to reassess objective 18, I couldn’t remember what that objective was (as compared to section 6-5). I’m not sure which way I’ll go next year.
  • The most persistent problem with SBG was in requiring students to come in outside of class to reassess. Not only did this tie up S’s and my time, but not enough students came by. For next year, I think I will have each objective on the quiz three times–the first for the grade, and the second and third as optional retakes. After that, I’m debating putting students on the board who need to come in and retake. The biggest drawback of this scenario is that it will make the quizzes longer to take and to grade. On the plus side, this would definitely take care of make-up quizzes.
  • Using the six-weeks tests as retakes worked really well.
  • Do I want to do more correlation between the notebook/notes and the objectives? I feel like there’s something of a disconnect–that is, that the objectives only apply to the quizzes. Something to ponder.
  • It still seems pretty incredible to me, but SBG (and thus eliminating chapter tests) gave me over 12 additional days of instruction this year!
  • It was very frustrating when a student would come in and say “I want to retake objective xx,” and I would ask if he knew what he did wrong, he would say, “No.” It never seemed to enter his (or her) mind that if he didn’t learn why he didn’t pass it the first time, he’s not likely to pass it now.
  • It was very hard to not give in to the “regurgitation” model of tutor then test. And, for the most part with our SPED kids, we gave in.
  • For the most part, nobody used the existence of the retake to blow off the first take of the quiz. A few students abused this occasionally, but since it required them to have the discipline to show up after school to retake the quiz, the problem usually sorted itself out.
