h1

Interesting End-of-Term Post

May 27, 2005

Darren at “A Difference” has written some comments about his AP Calculus classes. I especially liked the idea of a teacher survey like college classes.

I’m intrigued by his “Go For Gold” assignment. It’s a take-home exam that they have two weeks to complete. The kicker though is that everyone must get 100%.

Anything less is unacceptable. Here’s why: They can get help from me, talk to each other but not show each other any written work (yes, I know, I’m naively optimistic). I’ll tell them what they need to fix in order to get that perfect mark. There are no excuses for getting less than 100%. They sure are motivated to get that perfect mark; and I’m very picky about the degree to which they must explain written answers where required.

