h1

My Favorite Friday

October 19, 2012

I know I’ve been MIA recently, but I wanted to take a moment to share one of the best ideas I’ve had this year. Whenever I pass back a quiz, I also pass back a copy of my quiz key. I have told them that they can use previous quizzes as notes when they retake (yay, SBG!), so it’s in their interest to compare their quizzes to the key to see what they did wrong and make corrections. It’s so cool not to see quizzes being immediately thrown away as soon as I pass them out! This also saves me time because I don’t bother marking corrections on their quizzes unless I think it might be too hard for them to spot the mistake.

My upperclassmen have totally figured out this system, and they will spend 10-20 minutes carefully going over their quizzes. The sophomores aren’t quite that sharp, and not all of them take the time to do corrections. I definitely see more doing corrections than not, however.

I copy my quiz keys on Astrobright paper so I can retrieve them each period.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

